My Students Gave a Standing Ovation...and Awards!!!

Last week, I saw that Amanda over at The Teaching Thief was having a Fiction Friday linky.  I was a little late to the party, so I've been saving this little gem all week so I could participate this Friday.  I wanted to share my ALL-TIME fay-vor-ite read aloud!  I just discovered this book a few years ago, and I cannot even tell you how much my kiddos loved it!!!  But, I'll try.

After finishing this book, my entire class simultaneously stood up and APPLAUDED!!  {I may have shed a tear or two here}  So, what book, you ask?
"DOLLS??  Oh, my boys would never like that."  Even my boys loved this book...it has adventure, history, science, a little bit of everything for everyone.  Here's a little summary of it from Amazon -

Amazon.com Review

Annabelle Doll is 8 years old--and has been for over 100 years. Nothing much has changed in the dollhouse during that time, except for the fact that 45 years ago, Annabelle's Auntie Sarah disappeared from the dollhouse without a trace. After all this time, restless Annabelle is becoming more and more curious about her aunt's fate. And when she discovers Auntie Sarah's old diary, she becomes positively driven. Her cautious family tries to discourage her, but Annabelle won't be stopped, even though she risks Permanent Doll State, in which she could turn into a regular, nonliving doll. And when the "Real Pink Plastic" Funcraft family moves in next door, the Doll family's world is turned upside down--in more ways than one! Fans of The Borrowers and Stuart Little will love this exciting story of adventure and mystery. The relationship between the two doll families, one antique, one modern, is hilariously, wonderfully drawn. The Funcrafts are reckless and raucous, with fearlessness born of their unbreakable plastic parts. The Doll family is reserved and somewhat prim, even though they occasionally break into '60s tunes like "Respect" in their sing-alongs. Annabelle is a heroine with integrity and gumption. Ann Martin (The Babysitters Club series) and Laura Godwin create a witty, intriguing tale, illustrated with humor and a clever eye for detail by Brian Selznick. (Ages 7 to 11) --Emilie Coulter 

 Well, the day after my students gave it a standing ovation, my students were entering the classroom, gathered around their backpacks, when I heard a collective GASP!  I turned to look and saw that they were all peeking into one of my girl's backpack.  Oh my...what in the world did she bring to school, I wondered.  When suddenly one of my boys yells, "SHE FOUND THE SEQUEL!!"  Oh my goodness.  I didn't even know a sequel existed! {GASP!}  Needless to say, we started reading it that day.  Was it possible?  With the edition of a character named "Mean Mimi" my students were even more enraptured with this book!
Of course, by this point, I had already checked to see if the series continued and was thrilled to find out that it was a trilogy.
Before we finished the trilogy, over half of my class had persuaded their parents to go out and purchase these books for them.  They were bringing them to school and sneaking them out to read and reread any moment they could.  They just couldn't understand why there weren't MORE of these books, so (on their own) they began writing letters to the authors to persuade them to write more books or to make a movie out of the books.  Of course, we never heard back from them, but it was a great learning experience!

I've continued reading these books to my class for the last three years, with the same result.  I try to save them for later in the year, but I always end up reading them earlier than I planned...I guess I'm that excited about them, too!

Have you found a book that your class loves as much as this?  Please share....or better yet, link up to Amanda's Fiction Friday by clicking below.
I also wanted to take a moment to thank all of the sweet bloggers who have awarded my little ole blog with some amazing awards recently.  

Thank you so much to Sara at Miss V's Busy Bees, Aimee at Pencils, Books, and Dirty Looks, Brittany at Stickers and Stamps, Linda at Around the Kampfire, Jodi at Southern Sweetie in Second, Christa at Sweet Life of Second Grade for awarding me the One Lovely Blog Award!!  The rules for this award are...

1. Follow the person that gave you the award
2. Link back to the person that gave you the award
3. Pass the award on to 15 new bloggers


Also, a BIG thanks to Jessica at Mrs. Heeren's Happenings, Katie at Dirty Hands and Lesson Plans, Tammy at 1...2...3 Teach With Me, and Angie at Timeouts and Tootsie Rolls for awarding me the Versatile Blogger Award.  The rules for this award are as follows:
1. Thank the blogger who nominated you.
2. Include a link to their site.
3. Include the award image in your post.
4. Give 7 random facts about yourself
5. Nominate 15 other bloggers for the award.
6. When nominating, include a link to their site.
7. Let other bloggers know they've been nominated.

So, here are my 7 random facts about myself.

1. I don't have an athletic bone in my body (I actually have enough trouble just walking without falling down), but I will do any adrenaline extreme sports including, skydiving, bungee jumping, zip lining, and rock climbing.

2. If I weren't a teacher, I would secretly like to be a CIA Agent. (Think Syndney Bistrow from Alias)

3. My taste buds never grew up with me...my plate is usually 50 shades of yellow :); what can I say, I love my carbs!

4. I haven't eaten red meat or drank sodas in over 20 years (teenage phase that stuck with me). 

5. I go to the gym 5 days a week with my mom.  We even run together...I HATE running, but always feel better afterwards.

6. I watch WAY too much television and my #1 favorite show that still airs (sorry LOST) is Dexter! Love that serial killer!

7. I love jalapenos and high heels.  I would eat them/wear them everyday!

I am passing BOTH of these awards on to the following bloggers...

1. Kristen at Bless Your Heart

2. Chrissy at First Grade Found Me

3. Olivia at Liv to Teach

4.  Mrs. Dwyer at Mrs. Dwyers A+ Firsties


6. Miss Dennis at Notes from Miss Dennis

7.  Sara at Sarah at School

...okay, okay, I know that's not 15 bloggers.  I'm on the lookout for others! :)

12 comments

  1. I have never heard of this book, but I definitely want to check it out! It looks great!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm going to have to look around for those books! My kids LOVE Clementine by Sarah Pennypacker. I think mostly because I do funny voices and read it SO dramatically. They crack up the whole time.

    Jessica
    Teach on a Limb

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've been looking for a great read-aloud chapter book. Thanks for the recommendation!
    ❀ Tammy
    Forever in First

    ReplyDelete
  4. I was laughing while I was reading your post! I have the first 2 books and have had them since my daughter was in 2nd grade (she is starting her 2nd year in college) and they have NEVER been read. She didn't like to covers, so she never read them and she is an avid reader, just like me. I completely forgot about them until I saw your post and now I am going to dust them off and try a read aloud this year. I will have the gifted firsties, so it will be perfect. I can't wait to tell my Big Miss, maybe I can get her to read them after all these years. Thanks for making me laugh and for jogging my memory!

    Faithful in First

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love finding new books with great reviews. Thanks for sharing. I am going to have to go check these out. I think it is awesome that your kids loved them so much. You know you are doing something right when that happens :)

    Heidi
    My (Not So) Elementary Life

    ReplyDelete
  6. Hi Amanda! Thanks for linking up!! :) I read The Doll People several years ago, but I've never used it as a read aloud. From the sound of your class, this is an A+ read aloud, so I'm adding it to my list. I think it must be that childhood fascination with toys coming alive. Wouldn't that just be the coolest thing?

    Amanda
    The Teaching Thief

    ReplyDelete
  7. I am excited to have some new books to check out. Thank you! =)


    Heather
    Heather's Heart

    ReplyDelete
  8. One of my BTFs, best teacher friends, reads the Doll People series to her kiddos every year and they LOVED it. In fact, when the game to me in third grade, my copies were the very first books they searched for in my library!
    Lisa
    Fourth and Ten
    Like Fourth and Ten on Facebook!
    Formerly Stories From Second

    ReplyDelete
  9. Congrats on the awards!! The Doll People sounds intriguing. I'm going to have to look into that for sure! :) Thanks for sharing!
    Lisa
    Learning Is Something to Treasure

    ReplyDelete
  10. Hi! I love reading your blog and nominated you for the One Clever Education Blog Award. Go grab your award here!

    Amanda
    The Teaching Thief

    ReplyDelete
  11. Ooo can't wait to check out the trilogy! I have never heard of the books before and I am a children's book addict! Thanks for sharing!

    Kate
    EduKate and Inspire

    ReplyDelete
  12. I have never heard of the dolls book....but after your review I need to get my hands on it! Thanks for sharing! :)

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for visiting my blog and sharing ideas! I love to read your comments. I like to reply back by email, so make sure you have that option enabled so we can chat! :)

Back to Top